top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

My Winthrop University Experience

      One of the most important things that I have learned during my undergraduate journey is the importance to attend the university that best fits my learning style and find the academic environment where I would belong. When I was applying to undergraduate schools, I never thought about how important this can be.  I always wanted to attend a bigger university with large lecture halls than can take up to 500 students if not more. Somehow, I ended up in a small university with small lecture rooms that can take a maximum of 45 students. Attending Winthrop University (WU), was the best choice I have ever made. Looking back, I would have never chosen a different school, because the experiences that I gained and the opportunities that I had there, I don’t think I would have had the chance to get them anywhere else.


 I highlighted some of the best things at WU:

CONDUCTING RESEARCH  AS AN UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT: 

      Attending a small university like Winthrop, I was able to participate in undergraduate research for almost 2 years. Such an opportunity allowed me to gain tremendous knowledge in conducting research and that put me at the same level as students that were in Master’s programs. Because of the research I was conducting I was able to attend local and national conferences such as, the Association of Southeastern Biologists and Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine (TERMIS-AM). This allowed me to share my research and to make connections with students from all over the world. Participating in research taught me how to give a proper oral and poster presentations, preform various lab techniques, and how to clearly understand complex scientific papers. These were few of the many academic keys and tools that WU provided me with to prepare for my PhD.  

Future,MD,Pharm.D.,Dentist,PA, and PhD.

PROFESSORS: 

       One of the most amazing things about Winthrop, is its professors. They would do whatever it takes to ensure that students understand the material that they were teaching.  From my personal experience, many of my professors gave me time out of their busy schedules on multiple occasions to help me understand the material they were teaching. Due to that, I always felt that the number one priority of my professors, was and is, to pass on their knowledge to their students. At Winthrop I was also blessed with a wonderful advisor and research mentor. I was always able to go to them for advice not only for my academic life, but also my personal life. They were always there to celebrate my achievements and encourage me when I was struggling. They were instrumental in helping me find balance in my life while in school, so I would not overwhelm and stress myself out. Having such wonderful professors at Winthrop played a very important role in helping me obtain my undergraduate degree.

Favorite advisor and mentor.


FRIENDS:

      Friends are one of the best support system that a person can have during college. At Winthrop I met many people who I became friends with and who shared many of the same goals and aspirations. We were always there for each other. So we went out of our way to help, support and encourage each other. College is surely very stressful, and at WU it was very easy for me to find friends who always made me laugh and during stressful times they were very supportive as they continuously reiterated their strong belief in my abilities. So it is very important for students to surround themselves with friends who care and who are there for them when they need them. In addition, WU is very diverse where you can meet students from all over the world and that allowed me to learn more about different cultures which I believe to be very important.

FAMILY:

      Even though my family was not at WU with me, they were an important factor in my success. The support and encouragement that I got from my parents who were always there for me and who took the unequivocal burden in providing me with all I needed to attend to the challenges that foreign students usually encounter in their academic journey was unparalleled. 

Family.

                         Some might say that Winthrop would not have the academic opportunities that he/she might have in a bigger school. Believe me this is NOT the case! In addition to the extracurricular activities that helped me develop more independent and rich personality, I had the great honor and pleasure to meet many great academics like in particular the FATHER of the Mesenchymal Stem cells Dr. Arnold Caplan. So, definitely all the opportunities that I had at Winthrop not only helped me prepare for graduate school, but also equipped me with what it takes to be a person with a broad vision. 

GO EAGLES!!!! 

bottom of page